[go to navigation] [go to content]

系统方法与技术

遗迹、结构和文物的探测需要结合使用不同类型的技术和设备。

勘探方法

Franck Goddio 开发了一套独特的系统方法,其所有考古活动都按照这一方法开展。工作的第一步是研究和查阅重要的档案和/或古代文献,以确定并描述出考古遗迹的大概位置。然后借助先进的非侵入式测量技术对遗迹进行测绘,如专门开发的核磁共振磁强计 (NMR)、多波束测深、侧扫声纳、浅地层剖面仪和卫星定位系统 (DGPS)。测绘完成后进行试掘,了解电子地图上所显示的具体特征。
如果数据显示出一些积极线索,则全面展开考古发掘,涉及特定数据库、考古目录、图纸、测绘、摄影、录像、摄影测量分析和发掘的 3D 追踪渲染。

按照联合国科教文组织在《保护水下文化遗产公约》中的建议,通常会将文物留在现场,与相关权威机构协调后,由其负责安保、研究和保存。然后,由专业人员进行保护及考古发现编目。专家们随后会对考古发现进行分析,并参与科研成果的发表。最后,Franck Goddio 还会尝试通过国际展览和媒体途径向大众展示他们的考古发现。

技术设备

声学定位系统

 

该系统也称为“短基线声学定位系统”,通过一个安装在移动设备上的发射器(即“声波发射器”)向固定在主勘测船上的接收器定时传输声波信号。由于主船和接收器的精确位置可以通过卫星定位系统获知,由此可以计算出声波发射器的地理位置。可以同时使用多个声波发射器。


计算系统

勘测船配有计算机系统,用于采集数据和以图形显示地球物理传感器(磁力计、多波束、侧扫声纳等)术语以及用于记录定位和海拔(GPS、声学定位、压力传感器、方向、绞车控制参数等)的传感器数据。然后使用专用软件根据测量结果创建地图,用于分析和解读。


差分全球定位系统 (DGPS)

全球定位系统 (GPS) 是一种绝对地理定位系统,可以通过卫星群发送信息,提供移动接收器的位置(经度、维度和海拔高度),无论其在地球的哪个角落。为了达到考古研究所需的精确度(1 米以内),需要安装一个 GPS 地面站,通过无线电向移动接收器发送实时校正信息。移动接收器发送的校正后位置便称为差分位置,可以精确到厘米。

Franck Goddio 的团队还开发出一种水下 DGPS 系统,用于在发掘过程中收集浅水水域中的考古遗迹位置。


多波束测深与回声测深仪

使用回声测深仪或现代多波束技术可以获得测区的精确测深或地形图。这些声学传感器可以沿测线进行连续深度测量。测量数据整合后可用于创建高度精确的地形图。

阿布基尔湾的等深线图

核磁共振 (NMR) 磁力计

 

核磁共振 (NMR) 磁力计是测量系统中的主要传感器。这些高度灵敏的仪器由法国原子能委员会 (CEA) 开发。核磁共振磁力计基于质子和电子的同频磁共振(Abragam-Overhauser 效应),用于测量地球磁场的绝对值,测量频率达每秒一千次以上,数值可精确到 0.00005。该磁力计用于创建高度灵敏的海床磁场图,可提供可能存在的考古遗迹的位置、方向和大小等重要线索。


无人遥控潜水器 (ROV) 与深海探测器

无人遥控潜水器 (ROV) 装有摄像头,能够在深水区进行测量。勘测人员可以在屏幕前实时跟踪机器人的勘察情况,操作起来像电脑游戏一样简单。

在发掘过程中,Franck Goddio 采用了专为深海研究设计的小型潜水器——Jules 和 Jim。这种潜水器装有一个摄像头和强光探照灯,可运载一名工作人员和一名导航员,最大下潜深度可达 1000 米。深海探测器配有多功能铰接机械臂,机械臂的一侧装有一个声波发射器,另一侧带有一个吸盘,使其能够灵巧地捡拾物体。塑料气泡舱可以让乘坐人员在行程中免受海底压力的影响,并且可以提供 320°全景视野。每次下潜时间最长可持续 8 小时。


侧扫声纳
阿布基尔湾东海岸水下部分,侧扫声纳上显示的岩石海岸线

这种侧扫声纳可以提供海床、海床和勘测船两侧较大带状区域内的声波对比图像,显示海床上的岩石和其他物体,并可通过测量它们的影子来指示其大小。磁力计可以同时确定这些目标物是否具有磁性。将依照地理位置定位的声纳信息带并列放置,可保证完全覆盖已勘测区域。


水下清淤机

水下清淤机是一种水下抽吸装置,用于在水下发掘过程中清理淤泥。清淤机采用轻型塑料制成,通过位于水面以上的电机泵或浸没式电动泵(1992 年 Franck Goddio 在圣地亚哥号的发掘过程中开发)进行加压供水。清淤机的排出口装有一个细网筛,用于收集潜水人员遗漏的小型文物。


发掘方法与技术

网格基准系统法

传统的考古方法是使用绳索和线缆作为辅助,将遗迹划分为 1 m × 1 m 的正方格。这一系统方法让我们能够轻松获取每一个物体的坐标。

进行水下考古时,首先要设定一条基线,并将其牢牢固定在海床上。然后与主基线呈 90 度角拉辅线,划出网格。潜水员可以使用方格框架作为辅助工具,将遗迹精确地划分为 1 m × 1 m 的正方格。不过,现在这种传统的绘制法正逐渐为电子设备所取代,尤其是 DGPS。该类水下定位系统的精确度可以达到厘米级。网格法未来将仅限于帮助潜水员确定自己在遗迹中的位置,特别是在能见度较差的情况下。


马赛克拼图与 3D 水下摄影

在目标物上标记尺寸,通过拍摄一系列照片便可全面覆盖发掘地点。计算机视觉侦察程序可以对所有照片进行组合,再现发掘现场的场景。

如果在现场进行三维尺寸标记,并从不同角度系统地拍摄照片(有时需要拍摄数千张照片),强大的计算机该程序还能以 3D 图像再现整个场地的场景。现在,这种新技术在有些情况下允许直接进行考古发掘,无需在水下建立物理网格。发掘现场每天的进度可用于生成 3D 工作追踪,达到厘米级精度。


标记

每一名潜水员都会配备贴有发掘编号的尼龙网兜或塑料袋。发掘出的每一件物件都要单独装袋,并且要标注物件的位置,包括维度、经度、海拔高度、方位(罗盘定位)、垂直角度以及潜水员的识别标记。


采样

为了从采集的样品中获取尽可能多的信息,例如土壤或木材等有机物残骸,它们会被送往专业实验室进行分析。土壤分析可以提供有关所属年代动植物的宝贵信息,而对船木的木材树种分析则可能指示船只的建造地点,还可以使用碳 14 分析通过科学方法鉴定有机物质的年代。


发掘计划

在纸上重现实际网格,例如在图中画出每件物品被发现时的所在位置。打捞到的物品都带有一个标签,注有其所在位置、方向和海拔高度。对于那些无法打捞的文物或舰体结构,则采用三角定位法:通过 GPS 测定三个测杆或基点的精确位置。然后用带子测量每个基点到被测物体的距离。落到纸面上时,使用这三个测量结果交叉计算,从而准确得出相应物体的所在位置。

发掘计划的制定并非一日之功,需要日复一日的积累,直到获得完整的考古遗迹图,才能对遗迹展开解读。


取芯

取芯方案用于表面沉积层采样。用铝制取芯管在海底钻取柱形剖面进行采样。对采集到的物质(沉积物、岩石碎片、动植物遗骸等)进行分析,包括组成、物理结构、截面扰动、颜色和有机物,分析结果可用于放射性碳年代测定。取芯有助于解答有关文化历史时间轴、逐渐的地面沉降、突发基质衰竭、海平面上升、气候变化的问题,从而帮助完善发掘策略。


印模

印模技术让我们能够在发现文物后快速获取印模,为科学家们提供新资料,以便进行分析。在无法打捞文物的位置,可以采用印模方法记录存在于该地点的物品。

在进行水下或地面发掘时,需要采用压印法来获取文物表面的印模。这种技术常用于带有铭文雕刻的巨大石块。还有人专门为此研发了一种柔性硅树脂,用于在水下获取物体表面的雕刻印模。将文物表面清理干净后,把硅树脂包覆到文物上。然后在表面放置一块铅板,轻轻敲打以确保硅树脂模能够进入最小的裂缝。经过 16-24 小时的等待,硅树脂会变成一张弹性膜,此时铭文便反向印在了硅树脂上,回到陆地上后可以进行详细研究。


船体结构

在沉船清理完毕后,科学家们会对船体结构展开深入研究。让我们能够了解这些船是如何建造的以及它们是如何在海上航行的。无论是在菲律宾海域发现的中式帆船,还是在桑尼斯-赫拉克利翁发现的古埃及船只,这些对沉船进行的船体结构分析都将帮助我们填补有关这些船舶的史料空白,并向我们提出一系列有关其建造方法和发展演变的新问题。

有关圣克鲁斯中式帆船残骸的船体结构研究。

打捞文物

按照联合国科教文组织的建议,文物通常留在现场,与相关权威机构协调后,由其负责安保、研究和保存。发掘辅助船配备一台吊车,用于打捞文物。首先将文物小心地放到网袋中,逐一标记,然后放入塑料筐中。较重的物体(如雕像或石碑)使用专用气球或起重机起吊。

工程团队专门设计了一台升降机,这台升降机必须锚固在 350 米的深水中。该升降机的大型支撑浮筒由 60 个浮球组成,每个浮球都能抵抗 100 个大气压的压力。他们在海床上放置了一个金属平台,为运行升降机所需的两吨铅配重提供支撑。铅配重由四块组成,每块重半吨。配重上连接一个气球,以减轻其重量,然后由一个潜水器放置到位。升降机由一个水下装置操作,并以最大程度的谨慎打捞文物,如船钟。


防护处理

文物出水后要立即用海水清洗干净,在标签上填写发现日期,然后放入脱盐罐。脱盐罐中海水和淡水的比例为一比一,以避免强渗透造成损坏。经过几天的浸泡后,再将其放到淡水中,而且要不断换水。要持续测量水槽中的盐度,以确定干燥处理的最佳时间,防止文物受损。回到陆地上后,工作人员会用蒸馏水进行一个更复杂的脱盐过程。有机物质在船上的潮湿环境下进行保存,回到陆地后进行处理。脱盐后,工作人员会对文物进行描述、测量和登记。陶器要使用小錾子和手术刀进行清理,去除表面的沉积物和贝壳。将水下沉积物清理干净后,专家会对文物进行仔细研究,根据形状、质地和装饰确定其年代和出处。发现文物后,要尽快对有机物质进行快速细致的处理。

脱盐后,有机物质会慢慢干燥,多余的水分逐渐被树脂取代,因此物质的体积不变。青铜、银、铁和铅等金属在水下会发生腐蚀,因此需要浸入经过调节的精密化学或电化学处理系统,通过化学和超声方法进行防护处理。经过防护处理的文物可以进行化学稳定性处理,然后涂上保护涂层。

[go to navigation] [go to content]

System approach and technology

Detection of sites, structures and objects are the result of a combined use of different type of techniques and equipment.

How expeditions are performed

Franck Goddio has developed a special system approach according to which every archaeological campaign is performed. The work begins with the study and critical review of archives and/or ancient texts, in order to determine and characterize probable locations of archaeological vestiges. With the help of non-intrusive cutting edge technology, such as a specially developed nuclear magnetic resonance magnetometer (NMR), multi-beam bathymetry, sidescan sonar, sub-bottom profiler and satellite positioning system (DGPS) the site is mapped. Test excavations are then performed in order to characterize specific features seen on the electronic maps. If the data gives some positive clues the actual full archaeological excavations begin, involving specific databases, archaeological inventory, drawings, mapping, photographing, filming and photogrammetric analysis.

In accordance with UNESCO recommendations stated through the Convention for the Protection of Underwater Cultural Heritage artefacts are usually left on site, in coordination with the concerned authorities they may be risen for their safeguard, study and conservation. Afterwards, conservation and the cataloging of findings by specialists are implemented. Analysis of findings are then performed by experts who also participate in the publication of scientific results. Finally, Franck Goddio also tries to present findings to the public through international exhibitions and media work.

Technical Equipment

Acoustic Positioning System

The system, called ‘short base acoustic positioning’, is grounded on a regular time transmission of an acoustic signal from a transmitter - called a ‘pinger’ - which is mounted on a mobile unit to a receiving unit, fixed to the main survey vessel. As the position of the main vessel and receiver unit are precisely known from DGPS, the geographic location of the pinger can be calculated. It is possible to use several pingers at the same time.


Computing Systems

The survey vessel is equipped with computer systems for data acquisition and for graphically displaying the data from the geophysical sensors (magnetometers, multi-beams, sidescan sonar, etc.) together with the data from the sensors recording positioning and altitude (GPS, acoustic positioning, pressure sensors, heading, winch control parameters, etc.). Specialized software is then used to create maps from the survey results for analysis and interpretation.


Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS)

The GPS (Global Positioning System) is an absolute geographical positioning system that can provide the position in latitude, longitude and altitude of the mobile receiver, anywhere on the earth through information sent by a constellation of satellites. To get an accuracy of less than one metre, which is necessary in archaeological research, a GPS ground station is installed, which sends real time corrections by radio to the mobile receiver. The positions given by the mobile receiver after correction are then called differential positions. They can reach a centimetric precision.

Franck Goddio's team has also developed an original underwater DGPS to collect the position of the archaeological remains during excavations in shallow waters.


Multi-beam Bathymetry and Echo Sounder

A precise bathymetric or relief map of the survey area is obtained using echo sounders or nowadays the multi-beam technique. These acoustic sensors deliver continuous depth measurements along the survey lines. This information can be stitched together to create a highly accurate relief map.

General bathymetric chart of Aboukir Bay

NMR Magnetometer

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Magnetometers are the principal sensors in the surveying system. These highly sensitive instruments were developed by the French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA). Based on simultaneous proton and electron magnetic resonance (the Abragam-Overhauser effect), the NMR magnetometers measure the absolute value of the earth’s magnetic field more than one thousand times per second - with an accuracy of one fifty-millionth of its value. They are used to create highly sensitive magnetic maps of the seabed, which can provide vital clues about the location, orientation and size of potential buried archaeological features.


Remote Operated Vehicle (ROV) and Deep Rovers

The remote operating vehicles (ROVs) are equipped with cameras and are able to perform surveys in deepwaters. One can follow the reconnaissance of the robot in real time in front of screens like a video game.

The small submersibles Jules and Jim, which were designed for research at great depths, were used by Franck Goddio for excavations on the Royal Captain. Capable of diving to a depth of 1,000 metres and carrying one passenger and one pilot, they were fitted with a camera and powerful searchlights. The Deep Rovers were equipped with multifunctional articulate robotic arms with a pincer on one side and a suction cup on the other which made it possible to pick up objects delicately. The plastic bubble in which the passengers travel is to be able to withstand pressure of the sea and to allow a 320° panoramic view. Each dive could last up to 8 hours.


Sidescan Sonar
Rocky coastline at it appears on side-scan sonar, on the submerged east coast in Aboukir Bay

This sidescan sonar provides an image of the acoustic contrasts on the seabed, on a large band on each side of the survey boat. It reveals rocks and other objects lying on the seabed and can give an indication of their size by measuring the shadow, that they cast. Magnetometers can simultaneously determine whether these targets are magnetic or not. By juxtaposing geographically positioned bands of sonar information a complete coverage of the surveyed area can be created.


Water Dredge

The water dredge is an underwater suction device that is used in excavation underwater to remove sediment. The light plastic dredge is supplied with water under pressure by a motor pump situated either at the surface or through a submersed electric pump as developed by Franck Goddio in 1992 during the San Diego excavation. A fine mesh screen at the mouth of the dredge serves to collect any small artefacts, which the diver may have missed.


Excavation Methods and Techniques

The Grid Reference System

Traditionally, in archaeology the site is divided into 1 m by 1 m squares with the aid of ropes and cables. This system enables us to easily provide each object with a set of coordinates.

In underwater archaeology a baseline is first set out and firmly anchored to the seabed. Secondary lines can then be run at 90 degrees to the main baseline to create the grid. A planning frame can be used to help the diver accurately draw the remains in any 1 m by 1 m grid square. Today, however, this traditional method of drawing the site is being superseded by the use of electronic equipment, particularly DGPS. This type of underwater positioning systems can achieve a degree of precision within centimetres. The grid will be limited in the future to help the diver determine his own location on the site, particularly in cases of poor visibility.


Labelling

Every diver is supplied with nylon nets or plastic bags, to which a label with the excavation code is attached. Every item recovered is placed in its individual net and the position of the object in terms of latitude, longitude and altitude, its azimuth (compass orientation), and the angle of the object from the vertical, as well as the diver’s identifying mark is added. 


Sampling

In order to obtain the maximum possible information from a site samples are taken: for instance of organic remains like soil or wood etc. They are sent to specialized laboratories for analyses. Soil analyses can give valuable information on the flora and fauna of the time, wood species analysis of boat timbers can perhaps indicate where the vessel was constructed and organic materials can also be scientifically dated using Carbon 14 analyses.


The Excavation Plan

The actual grid is reproduced on paper, e.g. every object is drawn in exactly the same position that it was found in. Objects retrieved have a label from which their position, orientation and elevation is noted. For objects that cannot be brought to the surface, or naval structures, the method of triangulation is used: three posts, or base points, are precisely measured by GPS. From each base point a measurement is taken to the object using a tape measure. When transferred to paper, the three measurements should then intersect and thus pinpoint the location of the object in question. 

The excavation plan is built up day by day, until a complete picture of the archaeological site emerges. Only then the site can be interpreted.


Coring

Coring programmes are conducted to collect subsurface sedimentary layers. The samples are obtained by drilling cylindrical sections in the seafloor with aluminium tubes. The gathered material (sediments, rock fragments, botanical and faunal material, etc.) is analysed for composition, physical structures, disturbance of sections and colour and organic materials from within the cores can be used for radiocarbon dating. Cores help answer questions of cultural history timelines, gradual land subsidence, sudden substrate failure, sea level rise, climate change and thus help to improve the excavation strategy.  


Moulding

The moulding technique allows us to make imprints of artefacts discovered, and thus enables scientific experts to be quickly provided with new information for analysis. In locations where it is not possible to raise artefacts, moulding can be used to record objects in situ.

In order to take a surface impression of an object, underwater or on land, the stamping methods is applied. This technique is usually used for huge stone blocks on which inscriptions have been engraved. A special flexible silicone has been developed to make underwater impressions of engraved objects. After cleaning the object, the silicone is attached to it to coat the artefact. The layer is then covered with a sheet of lead, which is gently hammered in order to ensure that the silicone moulds into the smallest crevices. Once the silicone has transformed into a flexible membrane, usually after 16 to 24 hours, the inscriptions appear in reverse on the silicone and can be studied in detail on land.


Naval Architecture

After clearing a wreck a thorough study of the naval architecture of the boat is undertaken. It allows us to understand how ships or junks were built and how they operated at sea. The analysis of the naval architecture of the wrecks of junks discovered in the Philippines or of the indigenous Egyptian boats from Thonis-Heracleion is helping to overcome the lack of ancient sources about such vessels and opens up a broad range of questions about their construction and evolution over time.


Raising Artefacts

In accordance with UNESCO recommendations, artefacts are usually left on site, in coordination with the concerned authorities some may be risen for their safeguard, study and conservation. The support vessel of the excavation is equipped with a hoist to raise artefacts to the surface. At first the artefacts are carefully places in nets, each individually labelled, then in plastic baskets. Heavier objects (like statues or steles) are moved by means of a special balloon or crane.

For the Royal Captain project a special elevator was designed, which had to be anchored at a depths of 350 metres. The large support buoy of the elevator consisted of sixty spherical buoys, each of them capable of resisting a pressure of 100 atmospheres. A metal-platform was laid on the sea-bed to support the two-ton lead counterweight needed to operate the elevator. The lead weight – in four pieces of half-ton pins – was attached to a balloon to make it weightless and placed in position by a submersible. The elevator was operated by a submersible and raised objects – like the ship’s bell - to the surface with the greatest of care.


Conservation

Once an object reaches the surface, it is immediately cleaned in seawater, the date of discovery is entered on the label, and it is placed into a desalination tank. The tank is filled with 50% seawater and 50% fresh water, in order to avoid deterioration due to violent osmosis. After a couple of days it is placed in fresh water, which is continuously renewed. The salinity of the bath is constantly measured in order to determine when the object can be dried without damage. On land, a more complex desalination process is executed, using distilled water. Organic materials are kept in a damp environment on board, and are treated on land. After the desalination process, the object is described, measured and inventoried. Pottery is cleaned using microburins and scalpels to remove deposits and shells. Once the underwater sediments have been cleared, the object is carefully studied in reference to shape, texture and decoration in order to determine its date and provenance. Organic material requires swift and delicate treatment as soon as it has been recovered.

After desalination, the material is dried out slowly and excess water is gradually replaced by a resin, so that the volume of the material is maintained. Metals like bronze, silver, iron and lead corrode underwater. They are bathed in a regulated and precise system of chemical or electrochemical treatments. Conservation takes place chemically and ultrasonically. The revived objects can then, be chemically stabilized and covered with a protective layer.